History of NEMCON

Tom Prete Assembly No. 127 of the Society of American Magicians was chartered on October 10, 1976, with a total of 25 members. They were: Thomas R. Prete , John E. Anthony, Al Rosenfeld, Ralph E. Dunphy, John Kedves, Charles A. Kelman , Jeffery R. Hass, Anthony J. Morotta Jr., Glenn T. Canning, David J. Koscinski, Wayne J. Kovi, Paul Fusco, Albert Palmero , Russell P. Mattei, Keith I. McCurdy, Greg R. Bushman, Steven J. Grossman, Vincent M. Barrelli, John M. Prete, Harry M. Hines, Richard Hodes , William E. Dayton, David Brown, John L. Udall and Jeff Czerbinski .

These 25 charter members first met at the �Magic Arts Store�, Tom Prete's magic shop in Wallingford Connecticut. Shortly thereafter, they decided to form a local assembly of the National Society of American Magicians as the �Magic Arts Assembly #127�. In 1983, they voted to change the club's name to Tom Prete Assembly No. 127 in honor of its founder and first president.

Over the years, Assembly 127 was very active and in 1982, it sponsored the very first �New England Magicians' Conference� known as NEMCON with Hank Morehouse, George Schindler, Danny Tong and Paul Fusco as performers. In 1984 NEMCON honored Chet Karkut as its very first honoree. Tom Prete served as chairman of NEMCON up until his death in 2007 after which; the chairmanship was passed on to Assembly 127 President and NEMCON co-chair Henry Holava who worked with Tom during is battle with cancer. 

In 2008, the assembly launched the Tom Prete Scholarship Fund for the Arts and held its first Silent Auction at the 28th Annual NEMCON convention to raise funds. On September 9, 2009, Assembly 127 under the leadership of Assembly President Bill Hoagland and NEMCON chairman Henry Holava, incorporated NEMCON and is now the �New England Magicians Conference Inc.�, with a Board of Directors, Corporate officers and Board advisors. Only members of Assembly 127 can be board members, officers and advisors. The purpose of the new NEMCON Corporation is to conduct conferences, forums, panels, lectures, and similar programs for instruction and training of individuals in the art of and performance of magic.

Tom Prete; founder and first President of Assembly No. 127 of the Society of American
Magician and first chairman of NEMCON Inc.



Tom Prete
1927 - 2007

For Information
Email - nemcon@ctnemcon.com



New England Magicians Conference Inc
Wallingford, CT